Newb: buy now or later-powerbook

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
hi,

the laptop i gave my wife is getting old and slow. i was thinking about going for a powerbook... so that it would alleviate some pc headaches including the routine maintenace and problems that are encountered and needed. the only quandary i have is should i get it now or later? i know the new tiger os is coming out soon and am unsure what to do. i'm new to mac os and i don't want to pay another 120$us or whatever it may be only a few weeks after getting the new laptop. is there any reason to wait... or should i buy it now. i wish apple gave some incentives like a discount coupon or something. also, would the powerbooks be updated with the new tiger os right away or would the old os still linger for a while? sorry for the ramble... any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    bergzbergz Posts: 1,045member
    Quote:

Originally posted by giddyup69

hi,

the laptop i gave my wife is getting old and slow. i was thinking about going for a powerbook... so that it would alleviate some pc headaches including the routine maintenace and problems that are encountered and needed. the only quandary i have is should i get it now or later? i know the new tiger os is coming out soon and am unsure what to do. i'm new to mac os and i don't want to pay another 120$us or whatever it may be only a few weeks after getting the new laptop. is there any reason to wait... or should i buy it now. i wish apple gave some incentives like a discount coupon or something. also, would the powerbooks be updated with the new tiger os right away or would the old os still linger for a while? sorry for the ramble... any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.