ibook G4 12" vs iMac G5 17"

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi guys.

I was wondering what I should buy?

Base level iBook G4 12" w/combo drive etc, or the iMac G5 17 inch.

Wouldn't move around much, maybe to a freinds place once a month, and have a PDA (Zire 31) for day to day mobile bits.

I thought an iBook would be fine, but the screen is teeny tiny, which I again thought to be fine until i played around with some of the older iMac's (the 'bubble' design with the hinged screen) in Film & TV at school, and was impressed by big wide buitiful 17 inch LCD.

At the moment I live a deprived life in a Pentium 2 300 mhz, Win 98SE with 256mb ram and 40 g hard drive, which I share with rest of family of 8. Either one would be a major speed boost.

I'll probs use it for web browsing, basic gameplay, word proccesing and a bit of 3d graphics.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    I'm no Mac expert but I think you've answered your own question really - you want the iMac really, and I'd agree cause if you've only need to move it once a month, the iMac is slim and light enough for it not to be much more effort than an iBook, and you get a better screen and a faster machine. Since you do word processing and gaming, a 12-inch screen would probably be too cramped.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    Yeah, it depends on how much you do at once. Most people might run 2-3 apps at the same time, but you can only ever give your attention to one at any given moment.