Newbie needs Help on monitor selection

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Whether you believe it or not I am a TFT newbie, I've still got my 19" CRT beast weighing my desk down. I am interested in getting a mac mini to have as a cheap desktop to compliment my tiny ibook and I was thinking of buying the

Dell Ultrasharp 2001FP 20" performance LCD Flat Panel Monitor. 250cd/m2 brightness, 400:1 contrast, 16ms response time. Midnight grey TCO99

heres is the actual link: http://accessories.euro.dell.com/sna...tegory_id=4009

I realize it is an old model however it is on special offer at what seems to be a bargain of £385 (make your own conversions).I also realize that if I opt for just 1" lower (19") I can get one for about £200 or so but nevertheless amuse me.

So I have a couple of questions for you, any help would be great btw:

1)can someone explain simply in practical terms the numbers and specs of tfts? eg: 250cd/m2, 400:1 and so on ? the only thing I know is that 16ms is quite decent a response time as for the rest of the numbers I simply assume they should be as high as possible right? so are this monitors specs decent enough for the present times and the price? not really a gamer...think CAD, Adobe suite and movies

2) I also wanna share the monitor with my windoze setup (sorry but I need it for apps and stuff not available on macs as of yet ) and at this point this "antique" setup boasts an ATI radeon 9000 Pro graphics card. What I wanna know is will it be compatible in DVI terms (not even thinking of VGA hookup, it sucks!) ie. I read somewhere that it really helps if you get the right "Kind" of DVI eg: DVI-I or DVI-A or DVI-D. From what I can gather generally Dell monitors are DVI-D and my ATI is a DVI-I output. So is there a Problem or do I need a DVI-D-to-DVI-I cable or something like that? or am I talking nonsense?