changing HD in ibook/PBook?...

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
i am going to either buy an ibook or powerbook soon, waiting to see what, if any, changes are made to the ibook.

with my current windows based laptop, i replaced my 4200rpm drive with a 7200rpm and it was a huge upgrade. i noticed that with the ibooks, the drive is a 4200rpm. would it be possible for me to change the drive out with my 60gb 7200 rpm drive? i am new to mac hardware and i dont know if this would mess it up in anyway.

i am going to sell my laptop so i can have the funds ready for the ibook/pbook, but i dont know what to do with that 60gb 7200rpm, sell it with my laptop or keep it?

i dont get an ibook and buy the powerbook instead, what i was thinking was get a 80gb 5400 drive with it, and put that in my mac mini and put the 60gb 7200rpm in the powerbook.

sorry for the rambling, just really want to know how easy/hard is to change the HD in the apple laptops and reinstall mac os x?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    coolmaccoolmac Posts: 259member
    Well with the aluminum Powerbook you basically have to take it apart to replace the hard drive. It's not for the faint of heart or for someone who is not handy. It's definitely doable and there is a document that shows the steps to do it but if you screw anything up your warranty is void. If an Apple Certified Tech does it then your warranty is not void.
  • Reply 2 of 11
    slickslick Posts: 34member
    if i take my current hard drive to an apple certified tech, will they put it in for a fee, or do i have to buy one approved by apple and have them put that one in?

what about the ibook, any easier to install?
  • Reply 3 of 11
    bergzbergz Posts: 1,045member
    Quote:

Originally posted by slick

what about the ibook, any easier to install?

Take a look for yerself.

--B
  • Reply 4 of 11
    holy hell, guess its not as easy as a hard drive compartment with a cover held on by one screw is it?