A pretty good LCD for my Mini

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I've been using a 15" LCD for my Mini for the past 3 months, and while it works perfectly, I was wanting something in a widescreen. The 20" cinema and the 20" Dell monitors looked appealing, but were too big for me. I don't have the desk space to accomodate such monsters, so I was in a bit of a bind on what to get. The other logical sizes were the 17" SXGA, or maybe a 19", but I didn't want a bigger desktop in the vertical sense, as DVDs won't see much improvement from those size gains. So I was searching the web, and came across a nice compromise, IMO, the Sony MFM-HT75W, which is a 17" widescreen ( 1280x768 ) with HD-ready TV tuner with PIP. I was skeptical at first, but went to Circuit City to check it out. I must say, I was quite impressed. The brightness level was even all the way across, and the picture was vivid to say the least. CC was selling it with a $60 instant rebate, so I took a chance and took it home.

Link

It has a plethora of connections in back, including Svideo, Dsub, and DVI. There are also RCA inputs, which means gaming consoles are welcome as well. Naturally, I hooked it up to my Mini via DVI, and it was correctly identified from the start. After doing some quality-setting tweaks, I found a nice, vibrant setting for my needs. As far as width goes, I can successfully run the Dock down the left side and still have enough room for a 1024 width browser and the ichat window. Overall, the monitor itself is slightly wider than a standard Apple keyboard, and as tall as a 15" TFT. The cabinet is a good match for the aluminum Mac series, and even has a chrome power button that looks like it was stolen from a Powermac.