Becoming a Mac Programmer

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Ok guys,

Here is a new theory I am playing with. I am a windows developer part time and was playing with a thought. How do I break into the Mac Programming world? Is there even a need? If so how do I find it? (Looked on Monster/Careerbuilder..) Doesn't appear to be anything here in my area (Kansas City). Is this because there is no need or is these types of positions not sent out to the public?

Thanks for any info you have.

Thom

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    Buy a book on Objective C, or search around for an Objective C versus C++ comparison to see how things work in ObjC versus C++ (assuming you use C++ on the PC side)
  • Reply 2 of 6
    I am a VB/Asp/Sql Server/Access guy. But I will look into it. Also Do you program on the mac for a living? How did you get in the door and how did you find your job?

Thanks

Thom
  • Reply 3 of 6
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    Quote:

Originally posted by no1biscuit

I am a VB/Asp/Sql Server/Access guy. But I will look into it. Also Do you program on the mac for a living? How did you get in the door and how did you find your job?

Thanks

Thom

No, I'm a complete noob who hasn't even made his way through the CurrencyConverter ObjC tutorial.

Also, when you install the Developer tools that are included with Mac OS X on the Mac, there are a lot of resources on ObjC and outlines of the Mac OS X structure.
  • Reply 4 of 6
    onyx-pbonyx-pb Posts: 26member
    Quote:

Originally posted by no1biscuit

Thanks

Thom

If you do ASP/M$-SQL/Access then that makes me think you do some webby stuff? You could switch to PHP/MySQL quite easily (both available from apple downloads section) or you could move into Java development.

You could be doing anything in VB so not sure what to suggest on the Mac side.