Extra licenses for Tiger?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Here's my dilemma. I plan to soon buy Tiger, I am a university student, and I will get the student discount.

All prices are Canadian.

Tiger is $150 from Apple's website. The student discount makes it $90. However, as I understand, this will work on one computer only? Both my mom and dad have powerbooks as well and we would all want it. Is there a (legal or illegal) way to get around this single license?

If it's impossible, then I figure I should buy the family pack for $250, even though there is no discount on it. It's cheaper than three student versions. However, I only need three licenses.

I thought maybe there would be people on eBay selling licenses from family packs where they only need, say, three, and have no use for the extra two.

And, finally, has anyone here bought the family pack and wants to sell one or two licenses?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,423member
    Quote:

I thought maybe there would be people on eBay selling licenses from family packs where they only need, say, three, and have no use for the extra two.

The Family Pack contains 5 licenses for one location. So you must have all 5 computers in the local vicinity and you cannot sell the licenses. Grab the FP get legal and enjoy it's a lot better than what Microsoft would give you.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    a_greera_greer Posts: 4,594member
    I DO NOT encourage piracy in any form but there is no key or license mechenisum in Tiger so...but if oyur parents use their computers for business AT AL, dont risk it, furthermore, if one or more of you uses your computer for business you are violating the family license too...but on somehting like that I dont see annyone caring so get the Fam Pack and enjoy
  • Reply 3 of 6
    danosaurdanosaur Posts: 258member
    Quote:

Originally posted by a_greer

I DO NOT encourage piracy in any form but there is no key or license mechenisum in Tiger so...