ScientificusUK

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
First off, this is not a thread on Evolution or problems with scientific theory. Lets not go there and I don't want to hear it.

As most of you know, Im not a trained scientist, but have read a few things, and understand most of it, I have been thinking the last few days about the 'nature' of the universe.

I've had a profound thought, and maybe someone could either confirm i'm insane or a genius

I was thinking - what would the universe actually be, if I looked at it from its own point of view, rather than mine.

What would Einsteins theory of relativity mean to a photon?

consider - at the speed of light (c) we know from experiments, that distance is reduced to zero, and there is no time. So since the big-bang, which occured +/- 14 billion years ago to 'us', - in actuality if I was a photon, this occured exactly 0 seconds ago.

Now consider that 'we' measure the known universe as 30 billion light years across, but what is this distance to a photon. Exacly 0.

Now - we know from big-bang theory, that at one point, all the mass of the universe was in one place, and that something caused the expansion we see today.

BUT - from the POV of a photon, there has been no expansion, because the distances from its own perspective is still 0, just like from its perspective this happend 0 time ago.

Now, consider that for distances and time to become 'perceivable' as opposed to 0, then something must be travelling slower than c for 'us' to perceive it as spacial and within time. As we are part of this stuff that is travelling slower than c, we would perceive it.

So I propose (and this is where I dont want to be misunderstood by the nutjobs) that the Big-bang may not have been an expansion of the space, but was infact a change in velocity of some of the matter, slowing down from c, to give the 'appearance' of time and distances.