Can someone explain Macromedia products to me?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I have never used any of their programs and have been using GoLive for building and maintaining a website.

I'm a total novice but would like to build a more sophisticated web site as I see others have done or probably had done and thought using macromedia was the way to go. I may be wrong?

I see there are so many programs that they offer and I don't know what is needed. could someone explain in brief what is needed and what these programs do? Also any training programs to recommend for them.

http://www.macromedia.com/

Studio MX 2004

Flash MX 2004

Dreamweaver MX 2004

Fireworks MX 2004

FreeHand MX

ColdFusion MX 7

Central

RoboHelp X5

Web Publishing System

Director MX 2004

Flex 1.5

Breeze

Contribute 3

Authorware 7

JRun 4

Captivate

FlashPaper 2

thank you

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    geekdreamsgeekdreams Posts: 280member
    Dreamweaver is most likely what you'd want to use, coming from GoLive (which is similar). A lot of the other products are for things not directly related to web design, i.e. vector-based graphics, animation, application scripting, content delivery, etc.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    Dreamweaver is pretty much the standard for web design and web based programming. I have never used Adobe Golive but i heard its similar.

Fireworks is to be used hand in hand with Dreamweaver for image manipulation but I much prefer Photoshop. It doesnt have nearly the power os PS and reminds me of GIMP.

Flash MX 2004 is for making animated gifs, flash sites, etc.

Freehand is for drawing vectors but I dont use it.

Hope I helped a little.
  • Reply 3 of 8
    I bought Macromedia Dreamweaver a few months ago and just started learning about it. I bought a book (I forget the name but it's pretty dense, $29) that has tons of tutorials on it.