Why does Software care about the architecture?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Hello. for the record, this post would probably fit in Mac OS, Applications and Future Hardware. If a Mod feels it is better suited for something other than Applications, please move it.

Anyway, i have a stupid question that comes completely from curiosity. I am not a programmer. The only thing i know is HTML (which isn't really a language) and stuff for my TI-83. Because of that i have a question:

Why does software, besides the actual OS itself, care about what architecture the computer is using? I mean, why would programmers have to port code when it is the same underlying OS. I understand porting from one OS to another, but why architecture?

Sorry if this is a very newbie question but i haven't been able to figure it out.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    skatmanskatman Posts: 609member
    Well, for the most part, software doesn't care these days. (there are exceptiong, of course)

These days much of the software is written by combining prebuilt blocks into larger blocks which are then combined into even larger blocks and so on.

The collection of the basic blocks for a particular OS on a particular architecture is called Application Programing Interface (API). APIs for the same OS on 2 different architectures, while being very similar to each other, are usually not identical and that may cause compatibility problems.

Another case is when the software code doesn't use standard API, but rather uses some unorthodox calls for one reason or another. Games often do this. Then all the bets are off as one needs to figure out how to convert these unorthodox calls from one architecture to another.
  • Reply 2 of 3
    bborofkabborofka Posts: 230member