Windows man; I want a PowerBook; wait for Intel or buy now?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey,

I'm a student looking to convert over to Apple sometime this year, and I was wondering if I should wait for newer, more powerful processors that should come with the Intel conversion (at least for laptops, since they'll be able to get the wattage down, and thus solve their cooling problems).

My thinking at the moment is that I don't really need a laptop, since I'm still a full year away from college. Bewteen the jump in speed and the change in chipsets, I don't want to get burned and wind up with an inferior piece of technology that's going to be outdated in a year or two; if I wanted that, I'd stick with Windows and get a regular laptop. So I'm leaning towards getting a Mac Mini to hook it up to my TV and just wait until fall '06 when I absolutely have to have the laptop.

Though as I said, I'm just now converting to Mac now, so I'm not really sure if things are going to pan out the way I think they will. I'm just going on what little I know from perusing various Mac sites, trying to catch up on the whole Intel thing. Basically what I'm getting at is: Is there really going to be that much of a jump in power, with the lower wattage Intel chips, or is it just going to be a normal progression? If it's the latter, I suppose I might as well buy myself the PowerBook now and enjoy it. Thanks is advance for any help you can give.

Mike

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    tekmatetekmate Posts: 134member
    If you have a year I would wait to see what comes out. If you don't like the Intels you could always pick up a used Powerbook at that time.
  • Reply 2 of 13