Adding a second monitor

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I have an iMac G5 20" Rev B and want to add a second 20" monitor.

Will my current G5 run both monitors ok or do i need some additional hardware?

Sorry if this sounds like a dumb question. I'm fairly new to macs.

thanks for any help.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    Anyone?
  • Reply 2 of 12
    newnew Posts: 3,244member
    since it's saturday, the response here might be a little slow. I bet someone has more experience with this than me, but anyway;

The imac does not accept a second monitor out of the box. Only a mirroring of the display for use with a projector through the VGA port. Like the ibook. HOWEVER, the graphics card is strong enough to support a two monitor spanning, and there are hacks to make this happen on the net. Even some applications I think. So I believe you can get a secondary VGA display working with a little effort, but NOT a DVI display.

happy hunting.
  • Reply 3 of 12
    regreg Posts: 832member
    Screen Spanning Doctor

List of supported machines

Picture

Spanning forum

Just remember that it is an analog output when picking your second monitor.

reg
  • Reply 4 of 12
    Thanks guys!
  • Reply 5 of 12
    Why the hell does Apple cripple the iMac like this anyway. I mean, on the iBook it's understandable given the competition with the pb line, but on the iMac? It's like they don't want to sell monitors.
  • Reply 6 of 12
    newnew Posts: 3,244member
    Quote:

Originally posted by mynamehere

Why the hell does Apple cripple the iMac like this anyway. I mean, on the iBook it's understandable given the competition with the pb line, but on the iMac? It's like they don't want to sell monitors.

It's the same thing. They don't want it to compete with the PowerMac line. Apple doesn't want to sell the iMac as a workstation. It's a bit stupid, but understandable from a marketing point of view.
  • Reply 7 of 12