Survey: Do you watch the news? Why or why not?

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
Hey All,

I'm a journalism major and as a student news producer, I have to do a paper on why people do or do not watch the news, local or national. The paper includes a survery of 10 people. Those who respond, if you could include your gender, age, and race (required by instructor). I've been lurking here for a few years, but of all the forums out there, I find the most intelligent discussion occurs at AppleInsider (a little brown-nosing never hurt anyone...lol)

So basically, do you watch the news? Why or why not? Do you watch local or national news? Do you watch network or cable news (NBC or CNN)? I'll be taking comments and writing about how they do or do not fit in the theories of David Mindich's book "Tuned Out". This is simply an in-class thing, nothing for print or broadcast. Thanks to all who respond!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    dmzdmz Posts: 5,775member
    No, on all counts --I learned my lesson during the Reagan administration; if the TV media hates you, you can forget about being treated as a human being. "They" <-- bad generalization| report on the successes of the left and the failures of the right, and very little else.

There is also a very potent subtext of the news rotation/nightly news stories, that leads people to believe if they don't see it there, it must not be important. The TV news media is corrupted by advertising revenue -- not in any coordinated way -- but there is, on top of the bias of the editorial staff, a need for more shock, more hype. The real, meaningful stories don't get on the air. Michael Jackson gets a whole team of reporters while the stories of famine in Africa -- famine that is political/economical not climate-induced, that could be fixed, gets nothing.

(White Male, 37)
  • Reply 2 of 10