Wait for a mini?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Hi, I'm new here, and just have a quick question. I'm a PC user; I'm not in the market for a replacement computer, but I just want to purchase a Mini as an additional computer. I'm a web developer and dabble in graphic design and my fiance has ProTools that he uses to lay down and arrange test tracks for his band (this isn't important information, but more of a "we use certain software but not so heavily that we would need more than a Mini").

Anyway, we both have our own computers but we'd like to purchase a separate one solely for the above purposes, for his band to use to help burn CDs without tying up one of our personal computers, etc. So I thought getting a Mini might be nice instead of just some equally priced junk from Dell. Plus I'm an equal-opportunity computer owner and just kind of want a Mac just to have I didn't really want to wait until June to buy one, but I suppose I would wait if it would hold some benefit for us. So I guess that's what I'm asking - given the use of the computer, the fact that we're both PC users and the fact that our other computers are PCs, will waiting until the minis have Intel processors provide us with any benefits whatsoever...be it cost-wise, cost-benefit-wise, compatability-wise, or otherwise?

Thanks for any advice!!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    There is absolutely no point in waiting for the transition to Intel.

That being said, with rumours abound that the Mac mini will be updated soon (read: next few days, possibly), if you can, you might want to wait for a week or two before getting one (if you can wait).
  • Reply 2 of 8
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Agreed on waiting for the next bump, if you can.