Question about future ibooks.

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Hi, I am fairly new to the apple world. I am a University student and have used windows machines as long as I can remember. It wasn't until recently that I had the pleasure of working with macs. Anyway, I have to get a laptop and honestly the options from apple are pretty disappointing. I currently work with 20" IMacs and wish that I had the option of getting one of those. The displays on the ibooks and powerbooks are some of the worst I've ever seen, especially in their price range and you can get so much more value from a windows based machine for the same price. I'm rambling, I guess my question is, has anyone heard of upgrades to either line of laptops. Preferrably a widescreen option with higher resolution, or maybe even a price drop. And are the ibooks worth the money.

Thanks

Bryan

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    Well the 15" and 17" PB's have terrific screens. I'm not sure what you are talking about there.

The 12" iBook and PB both have the same screen and, for a 12" 4:3 screen have a respectable resolution and decent brightness. It's the 14" iBook screen that sucks.

Widescreen iBooks have been rumoured for what seems like over a year. Maybe with the Intel switch. I wouldn't hold my breath, though.

But seriously. The screen on the portables, save for the 14" iBook, are really good.
  • Reply 2 of 10
    Welcome to the Apple Insider and the Macintosh community...you are in for some great times!!!

You have to remember here that with Apple you are not strictly comparing hardware to hardware, but also one thing that you will not get on any PC: MAC OS X (and the amazing design Apple products have).