Anyway to make fake "About this mac" box

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
So I work in a school where the head IT guy is a dick and won't let me run Tiger on my computer.

Is there some way to hack the "About this mac" dialog box to make it look like panther?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    chychchych Posts: 860member
    Sorry about your IT department.

Try:

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...+mac+processor

Essentially modify the file:

/System/Library/CoreServices/loginwindow.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/AboutThisMac.strings

I would think that you would replace

"ABOUT_BOX_VERSION_FORMAT_STRING" = "Version %@";

with

"ABOUT_BOX_VERSION_FORMAT_STRING" = "Version 10.3.9";

or whatever, probably will need to reboot (or log off/log in).

You can edit the build number as well, and give yourself a quad G5 if you want.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    PhotoShop.

As for realtime hack, I don't think so...

Even if you managed to fake the dialog from the Apple menu (no simple task, though chych seems to be on the right track), he might be able to SSH or telnet into the box and see it report a post-Panther OS build #, or recognize processes that are unique to Tiger, including but not limited to unique dock items such as Dashboard.

Does he say why you're not allowed to use Tiger?
  • Reply 3 of 6
    chychchych Posts: 860member
    <alright this is funny, when two people posting responses correct their posts simultaneously to compensate for the other post's criticisms>
  • Reply 4 of 6
    not sure how hacking the CoreServices would impact things like Software Update or Permissions fix (I'm presuming each might wipe the hack you made, but might also be pooched by it), but if the IT guy is good and/or thorough, he can still sniff out the OS differences despite your cosmetic masking.

You still haven't explained why... but maybe your IT dude hasn't either.