newbies intro

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hey guys I am a newbie here..I have never owned an apple product, though I've used an imac (or maybe it was an emac?)at previous job(s).

At the current time, I am in the process of getting my old ass out of my parents house and going off to complete a BS in mechanical engineering and am thinking about picking up a PB...or imac...I know I know two totally different animals..I am leaning more towards the PB cuz the girls will think "its cute!"...and its portability is always a plus as well. Anyway, I will stop boring all the senior members in here..if you have any suggestions/opinions related to my choice, (BTW I am thinking of the 15in updated PB and I will upgrade RAM myself, dont know about the HD yet*)I will be happy to receive them!

john

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    TEH POWERBOOK is a chick magnet.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    powerdocpowerdoc Posts: 8,123member
    Quote:

Originally posted by lundy

TEH POWERBOOK is a chick magnet.

This is not a good argument, this is THE argument
  • Reply 3 of 8
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member
    The 15" is the best in my opinion. It is light, functional, big enough for the girls but not over-compensating for something like the 17".

If I had the dough, I would get a 15". (I have a older Pismo 14" that is still kicking up a storm.)
  • Reply 4 of 8
    The iMac is a far better beast than the PowerBooks at the moment if you can forego the portability. Faster, bigger drives, better screens, built in camera etc. If you can live without carrying it around, I'd plump for a 20" iMac.
  • Reply 5 of 8
    relicrelic Posts: 4,735member