Seperate or Joint?

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
Relationships and money

At some recent classes, some of my fellow students and I somehow got onto the matter of how finances are maintained within a relationship. My personal family is very traditional in that my wife and I are married in what has been the one and only marriage for each of us. Our children have occurred within that marriage. We maintain one joint household checking account.

However that arrangement is far less common today than might be imagined and while I have recognized the various family forms over the years this conversation with my contemporaries was very enlightening because I never realized that the financial affairs behind the non-traditional family forms were pretty unconventional as well.

I'll tell you a few of their stories and perhaps you will care to share your opinions or a bit about your own story.

First keep in mind that I'm an elementary school teacher so all the stories involve women since that is what makes up 90% of the people in my classes. Also please understand that the reasoning I give within the stories is not my own and thus if it makes or doesn't make sense, I have no control over that.