Question and Comments about BootCamp

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I was about to buy a 20" iMac and then this whole thing with boot camp came out being able to run Micro$oft Windows XP on it. Even though Windows is an amazingly crappy operating system it made me stop my purchase of the 20" iMac. I was thinking to just save the money and get a new Powermac when it comes out all decked out. High end video card a lot of memory and a fast CPU. I think by doing this I will kill 2 birds with one stone and have a powerful system for development and graphics under the Mac OS and being able to play the higher end games with Windows XP. You guys think it?s worth the wait. I feel that spending $5000 on a Powermac is justified for a Student like me cause you are really getting 2 systems out of it now. Not to mention the possibilities of installing Linux. I have to say I am a noob in the Mac world and don?t know an awful lot like most of you guys on this forum. It would be great to get some insight on this. By the time the Powermac comes out most of the programs I use should be Universal so that?s an added plus. I hear nothing on Adobe till 2007 so I am disappointed.

Thanks

Andrew

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    dutch peardutch pear Posts: 588member
    Go have a look around,

but according to most reports I have read, XP gaming performance on the 20" core duo is already really amazing on all current generation games.

Not only does it have a decent graphic card, but apparently the core duo is really great for enhancing game performance, blowing 3+ GhZ P4's out of the water.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    Wow, Im really concerend about photoshop and dreamweaver under the Mac OS because thats where I do most my work. I also do a lot of video editing.
  • Reply 3 of 13
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Andrew266