Why I prefer Garagand over pro alternatives

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
It took a while but I finally realized I actually like GB better than the other stuff out there. Initially, I was offended by GB. I thought it dummied down the process. I am a real musician and I wanted my software to treat me like one. GB was afraid of simple terms like "MIDI" and "AUDIO." Still, I used it for a job here and there. Now, i cant do a project without it. I also have PTLE with the Mbox and Logic Express. When I was a PC user back in the day, I used Vegas Audio, Cakewalk, and Cubase. I now find it painful to use PT and LE, and a joy to use GB. Here's why.

Interface

I am sure it is out there, but I have yet to find a pro music app that looks or acts like it was written for a modern OS. Everything looks like it was written for OS9. In the pro world, there is a lot of inertia when it comes to tools. Workflow is determined by the hardware and software of the initial setup. Many pros hung on to OS9 rigs. The software companies never really move forward all that much.

Process

Doing simple things is made overly complex in pro audio software. Try using a USB mic in logic or using a MIDI keyboard to play music in PT without a thick manual and a lot of time. In GB, it all just works. Is Apple the only company that can do this? In GB, you have zero setup time and very little learning curve. When I have a musical thought, GB is the first and last place i need to go. Sometimes other programs make sense after most of the work has been done in GB.

Compatibility