Need Mac software to make a will, help please

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Okay - I've decided to make a will and am going the software route. I consulted a lawyer but he wanted $700-800 for a basic will, which is too much. My situation is very simple - wife, no kids, one house, no trusts.

Can anyone recommend a good Mac-compatible will making program? I looked at Quicken Lawyer and Quicken Willmaker but neither is Mac-compatible.

Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    I remember seeing a will writing program at an Apple Store. I don't remember what it was called though. If you have an Apple Store in your area, you should stop by and check it out. I don't think it runs natively in X though.

Cheers!
  • Reply 2 of 4
    stroszekstroszek Posts: 801member
    I'm not a lawyer or anything, but I am fairly certain that you can't just print out a will and have it be legal. I think you have to have it notorized or something. That way when it comes time for the will to be necessary, no one can claim that I printed the will so that I would get all of your stuff. (I am going to be in your will, right?)
  • Reply 3 of 4
    [quote]Originally posted by Stroszek:

<strong>I'm not a lawyer or anything, but I am fairly certain that you can't just print out a will and have it be legal. I think you have to have it notorized or something. That way when it comes time for the will to be necessary, no one can claim that I printed the will so that I would get all of your stuff. (I am going to be in your will, right?) </strong><hr></blockquote>

Stroszek,

I ended up going with Quicken Lawyer 2002 Wills for the PC, since I couldn't find any OS X software, and I'm not going back to OS 9. Plus I like Quicken's TurboTax for the Web.