Learning a new language- any recommendations?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Well.

I've been giving serious thought about taking up a programming language so that I can write simple yet elegant little apps for Mac OS X. (Not to make a fortune, just to make tools, and put them out there)

Most of me is saying that this is complete madness as I've absolutely no programming experience whatsoever.

As a trained product designer, I am, however pretty good at art, mathematics, and user-interface design.

I've done a wee bit of light research and am torn between getting involved with Perl, Python and Cocoa (Objective-C).

Any suggestions, advice, condemnations etc would be really appreciated.

Thanks .

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,326moderator
    IMO Perl syntax is ugly. Python is very nice. Objective-C is confusing but programmers like it because it's a pure object oriented language.

Objective-C is the best in terms of performance but you have to deal with compile times.

Perl and Python are interpreted languages so they run slower but you don't need to compile them so development is faster.

I've used quite a lot of languages and I personally love Python. There is also a way to write Python code to use the OS X Interface Builder documents:

http://pyobjc.sourceforge.net/

The good thing about Python is that you can mix C code in performance critical areas.

I really wish that Apple would replace Applescript with Python. Even if they made a custom extension to the language. I also wish they implemented a low level compiler like psyco for OS X. In theory, you could do most of your programming with Python because runtime performance would come close to a compiled language.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    Quote:

Originally posted by Marvin

IMO Perl syntax is ugly. Python is very nice. Objective-C is confusing but programmers like it because it's a pure object oriented language.