Headphone users, what volume do you set on the MacBook?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi, was just curious. Last night after experimenting, I went with 100% for the system, and 50% for the Apple DVD player, and adjusted the volume the rest of the way on the self-powered headphone (in this case, a cochlear implant).

If your headphone has batteries or a plug for AC power do you set the same volume settings?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    imacfanimacfan Posts: 444member
    Don't have a Macbook, but if you just said what I thought you said - Kudos! I'd go a very long way for sound quality, but surgery...

Out of interest, can I ask how well the implant works - especially if you have had a decent previous level of hearing at some point? Apologies if the question seems a bit intrusive, but I'm a medical student, and I'm amazed by the things.

David
  • Reply 2 of 3
    Not a problem at any time to ask questions.

Technologically, they're pretty interesting devices composed of both hardware and software. I was actually born deaf so I've never had normal hearing. But they work wonderfully well if your brain has enough neural circuitry mapping the auditory cortex to the language center.

I have purposefully avoided getting technical here because I'm not sure people want a lecture, but I will say that when I was in highschool I used to come home exhausted and sleep for a while due to struggling all day to understand. I don't do that anymore. I thought to myself, if I knew this earlier, I would have done it years ago. The other thing is that I used to play Quake 1 so I was very familiar with the sound effects. Several months after surgery I tried Quake 1 with the hearing aid again. I was absolutely appalled. It was horrible. I could not believe I was able to extract any useful sound out of that mess before.