Pimp my Mac Pro

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
So I have one of those x1900xt Mac Pros backordered, and since there are rumors that we may see them in the next two weeks or so (instead of my current Sept 21st ship date), I thought I ought to get on buying the other stuff for it. I'd like some advice on what people think I should get to "Pimp my Mac Pro".

I currently have an absolute maximum of $1200 to spend, more realistically about $1000. I am a college student, majoring in computer science. I live in an apartment, and I have my own room in a 4-bedroom apartment.

RAM - I'm getting a 2 x 1GB kit from Crucial - $440.

EyeTV - I want to have a TV/PVR, so I'm planning to get an EyeTV EZ. That's $150.

Monitor - I want to be able to watch said TV while lying in my bed, approximately 12-14 feet away from my desk. Is this remotely feasible with a 20 inch widescreen monitor? I can't spend more than $300 on a monitor. I'm looking at the Samsung 205BW on Newegg (it looks freaking sweet).

Hard Drives - Here's my real question. I am getting the 160GB included drive, because I planned on buying at least one additional drive. I want at least one drive for Windows/Linux, and one for OS X. Should I:

a) Grab a 250 GB HDD off Newegg, use that for OS X, and the 160 GB one for Windows (Cost: $80)

b) Grab two 160 GB drives, and RAID 0 two drives into an OS X drive, and have 160 GB for Windows (Cost $160)

c) Grab a 150 GB Raptor off Newegg, split it between OS X and Windows, and split the 160 GB drive into OS X and Windows storage partitions? (Cost: $200ish)

Thanks for any advice/help/comments, and...

OMG Mac Pro OMG!!!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    igrantigrant Posts: 180member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ZachPruckowski