Install newer version of os over existing os

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I am new to the world of mac.

I wonder if I can buy today a macbook that has tiger os and when the leopard comes out(final version-2007), install it over tiger.

I mean that if I buy now a macbook, then I will spend lot of time to make the os suit to my needs, setup programs, several system preferences etc.

Is it easy to just install leopard os in an existing tiger os enviroment or I will have problems?

If there are problems maybe I will wait for leopard os to arise.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    brussellbrussell Posts: 9,812member
    In the past, there have been several options to install a new OS. You could do what you want, and install over the existing OS, which would save many preferences. Many people prefer to do a clean install, in order to "start fresh." I assume the same options will be available for Leopard.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    Are there any problems?
  • Reply 3 of 12
    placeboplacebo Posts: 5,767member
    Installing a new OS is a piece of cake and isn't something you'll have to worry about. I usually like backing up, erasing my hard drive, and installing the new OS / putting my files back on simply because it clears out any disk fragmentation and is guaranteed to result in no problems.
  • Reply 4 of 12
    Is it easy to take backup of all the preferences on system and application settings?

In my windows system, I have to set up for days.

Every single application and also the os itself. I have to to make it suit my needs and this is something only me can do it(for myself).

I can take ghost backup having all my system preferences and application data backed up, but of course this is not an update because the os remains the same.

This is my win experience, I wonder if mac experience would be something like that.

All these configurations make me have headaches, it is a tedious task.