MacBook or iMac?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm in my second year of sixth form and I'm looking to buy either a MacBook or an iMac at the end of this month. I don't know which I should purchase. I'm going to uni next year but is a laptop really a necessity?

I'll be using the mac for:

School work, Internet, Music, Web Design, Moving Making (Hopefully want to be using Final Cut Pro/Express), Playing games (nothing hardcore).

I suppose my questions are related to the computer, but also related to the necessity of having a laptop at uni. Obviously a desktop is more powerful, but a laptop is portable etc. Weighing up the pros and cons, what do you think (in your opinion), comes out on top?

Please wish to include any extra features about the two systems that may sway my decision.

Cheers.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    I'm sorry, I'm most likely old enough to be your dad and I've been out of the loop for a while, but what is "uni"?
  • Reply 2 of 6
    University
  • Reply 3 of 6
    I've been sort of going through the same thing as you, weighing between the MBP and iMac. I've decided on going the iMac route, here's why:

- The specs per dollar far out-weigh the MB/MBP.

- I don't think I could get used to the 13" screen.

- I've owned both a laptop and desktop (in the PC world) when I was in college. Even with my laptop, I used it 95% of the time in my dorm/apt. Unless you're really going to be using it in the classroom or in between classes, I would say the iMac.

- Also, laptop theft is pretty common at colleges/universities (at least here in the states). It's a little tougher to lug an iMac out of someones dorm/apt and not look suspicious.
  • Reply 4 of 6