Any Help with a Windows PC? Dell Inspiron 9100.

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
OK, first as a LONG time poster here, I'm sorry to even ask about a Wintel. I just think folks here will be more knowlegable than elsewhere....

The problem: A good friend of mine as a two year old Dell Inspiron 9100, 2.73GHZ/512MB. She brought it over to help me burn some CDs in quantity, and I noticed it was beyond slow (interface, CD encoding.importing, app loading, etc). It reminded me of an old 486 I used to have when it had 4MB of RAM trying to run Windows 95. By comparsion, I have a more recent, but slower Dell notebook and it runs about 10X as fast...on everything.

Not being a Windows expert, I tried several things. The first thing was to check and see how much ram this chick had. At 512mb I figured it was adequate. Then again, the fans run constantly (you should see this beast...it's like 12 pounds) so I'm wondering about that...perhaps major heat issues or a dysfunctional RAM chip. We defragged it (it was badly needed) and tried tweaking the interface for "best performance"). We had only marginally better results.

My thoughts are as follows:

1) It could have a HD problem as it's accessing constantly (she has a lot of free space).

2) Thought it's running Norton, I think it may have been hosed by a virus or spyware previously and not repaired by reinstalling.

3) It could need more RAM or it may have a RAM problem. Maybe it has two 256 chips and one is fried?

My thinking is to wipe it and reinstall Windows and go fron there. Do you have any suggestions. Thanks in adavnce. Oh, and one more thing: I fvucking had Windows. I really, really do.

Really.

I do.

SDW

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,326moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SDW2001

2) Thought it's running Norton, I think it may have been hosed by a virus or spyware previously and not repaired by reinstalling.