OSX and XP with Parallels and/or Boot Camp

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Dear all,

I'm still pretty new to Macs. Actually, mine's still waiting for me at home in its box because it has been delivered while I am on a business trip.

My question is probably really stupid, but I did not find an answer searching the forum. I would like to ocasionally be able to run XP on my Mac. I understand that there are 2 ways of running it:

1. Partition the hard-drive and install XP on a separate partition (which means that I have to format the drive completely, i.e. losing all data on the hard-drive)

- does the MBP come with all the CD's to redo a "factory" installation of the OS and all apps that were originally on the drive?

- If not, can I simply burn a backup of the entire contents of the hard-drive onto a DVD and restore it later on the newly partitioned drive?

- what is the minimum drive partition size to run OSX without running into storage problems?

2. Buy and use Parallels

- Does running XP in Parallels require a separate drive partition for XP?

- If not, is it still advisable to have a separate partition?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Best regards,

M.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2
    zoczoc Posts: 77member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by magicmartin

1. Partition the hard-drive and install XP on a separate partition (which means that I have to format the drive completely, i.e. losing all data on the hard-drive)

No. The bootcamp assistant will allow you to resize the OSX partition without loosing data.

Quote:

- does the MBP come with all the CD's to redo a "factory" installation of the OS and all apps that were originally on the drive?

It does.

Quote:

- Does running XP in Parallels require a separate drive partition for XP?

- If not, is it still advisable to have a separate partition?

Parallels uses "filesystem into a file". This means that you do not have to use a separate partition to install XP with Parallels.