New to Apple, need some guidance

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Sorry if this is in the wrong section - please move if so.

Hello, this is my first time posting on your forums. I bought a compaq laptop last fall after debating over getting a windows or mac based machine. Fearing compatibility issues, I chose the Compaq. Well, with a year and a half of college under my belt, I've come to realize that it was a foolish decision, especially with MacBook's ability to natively boot windows xp thanks to the intel cpu, and would like to revisit my options.

I've looked through the reviews I've found on google, and they're all for the 13" macbooks with 512 mb of ram - I haven't found a single one that's been updated for the 1 gig of ram that's now included. The reviews said apps ran a bit sluggishly with the 512 mb, which is understandable, but having never been a mac user before I was wondering how a gig works. I'm guessing that since it's an intel processor then it's going to act like a windows machine, though I don't know how OS X utilizes its memory. I was told once that the more memory you could throw at the old Powermac processors (correct me if that's the wrong name), the better and more efficient they ran. I was also told that OS X utilizes its memory much more efficiently than Windows XP, which wouldn't be too hard to believe.

As you can tell, I'm a bit confused and would love any links to updated reviews or personal, hands on experience. I'd really like to get a macbook (non-pro) this Christmas for myself, but don't want to pay the hefty pricetag for the black one. Through my college's student discount I can get the 2.0 ghz, 1 gig 13" white one for $1,199, which I'm assuming is a pretty good deal.

Thanks to anyone who reads the entire post!

Tommy

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member