MAC Pro or Wait?????????

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Hello,

I am new to the insider, and I am considering buying the MAC PRO 2.66 or 3.0. However, I was wondering if I should buy the mac pro "quad or wait for the "OCTO Core" When it comes out?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 19
    Buy what you need now, unless your need is in January. Then there will likely be new product or price adjustments. Maybe. If you're lucky.
  • Reply 2 of 19
    Kewl,

I have the money for it now, how ever I can wait. I currently have the quick silver, yes it is slow but I am getting by 4 now. How, sure are you about January. ( I Know, as Sure as sure can be.) However, do anticipate them coming out with the OCT core then.

I'll bet the price will be out of this roof!
  • Reply 3 of 19
    xoolxool Posts: 2,460member
    Unless you do a few specific tasks, you will note take much more advantage of an octo over a quad. In fact most users would not take advantage of a quad over a dual.

I have a 3 GHz Mac Pro and while I push it pretty hard and get it to redline sometimes, I wouldn't use the extra 4 processors in the Octo config. At least not now.
  • Reply 4 of 19
    Ok, I will be using the unit for Video Editing and Music Production in Logic 7.2 and Protools. Will the OCTO Core effect the performance of the utilities?

Fly!
  • Reply 5 of 19
    tednditedndi Posts: 1,921member
    Wait till after MWSF.

If you need it now to make $$$ and you can't do without, then go ahead.
  • Reply 6 of 19
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by TednDi

Wait till after MWSF.

If you need it now to make $$$ and you can't do without, then go ahead.

Ted,

Kewl, I can wait.... Hopefully it is not going to cost out of the wazzzoooo!!!!
  • Reply 7 of 19
    gugygugy Posts: 794member
    pretty sure before February we'll see the octo-core.

I look forward to replace my Quad G5.
  • Reply 8 of 19
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by flyguy4ya