Another switcher...Question about Leopard

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I plan on pulling the trigger and get my first Mac when Leopard is released. However, I have no experience with the Mac OS other than the 20 minutes I spent with a salesperson at the Mac Store. My question is about the classes they offer. I seem to remember a post about a $99/year program where Apple offered classes on how to use a Mac and get the most out of it. What is the program called, and how long after Leopard is released will they be able to teach the new OS?

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    They'll be teaching it the next day, most likely... while there are new toys in the new version, the WAY it works is the same ... very quick to learn the new stuff if you're familiar with the old.

That said, if you enjoy just sitting around and playing with/learning about your computer, then you'll learn more just goofing around in one evening (and reading boards like this) than you would in a "class" on how to use OSX.

Still, it might be a fun evening to go meet some other folks who have a common interest.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    sunilramansunilraman Posts: 8,133member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Aflaaak View Post

I plan on pulling the trigger and get my first Mac when Leopard is released. However, I have no experience with the Mac OS other than the 20 minutes I spent with a salesperson at the Mac Store. My question is about the classes they offer. I seem to remember a post about a $99/year program where Apple offered classes on how to use a Mac and get the most out of it. What is the program called, and how long after Leopard is released will they be able to teach the new OS?

Thanks

Yes, I think if you would like it $99 for ProCare would be a good option.

http://www.apple.com/retail/procare/

I think give the Apple Geniuses and Trainers about a month or so after Leopard is released, then go in for your training, setup appointments, etc.