MB/MPB Intel chipset comparable to G5?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
This is my first post to this forum but I've been browsing around for a few months. I'm putting some serious thought into getting a macbook or a macbook pro, but haven't really made a decision yet. My current computer is a dual 2.5 G5 with 4.5gb RAM. I'm going to school for graphic art/media design which will requires me to have Photoshop/Flash/Illustrator and eventually After Effects and Final Cut Pro. I don't think I'll need a laptop to do all of the heavy lifting for these types of projects, but I don't want it to freeze up on me either.

I guess my question is do you think a MacBook or a MBP with the new Intel chipset is comparable to the G5 I have now?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jgbx View Post

I guess my question is do you think a MacBook or a MBP with the new Intel chipset is comparable to the G5 I have now?

Not really. The MacBook and MBP are faster.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by skatman View Post

The MacBook and MBP are faster.

The fastest MBP is dual 2.33 GHz. Since the G5 chips are pretty close in terms of performance to the Intels at similar clock speeds, it's more likely the MB and MBP will be slower. I benchmarked a dual 2.16 iMac against a quad 2.5 G5 and the iMac came in at less than half the speed.

Also bear in mind that the MB and MBP only have 667MHz front side buses whereas the G5 has a 1.25GHz fsb, which dramatically improves the data throughput and is important for heavy video apps.

Also, the hard drives in the laptops will be slower, which is important for video read from a scratch disk.

Also, Flash, illustrator and After Effects are not Intel native yet and they have a serious performance hit. You could run them under Windows though.