optimal swap file, hardrive space for macbook

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I am new to the Mac OS world, I hope some of you can help me.

I just bought a macbook with 2.0G, 80GB, model.

Install MS office and a few other utilities apps., and partition drive to run win xp using boot camp, for work purpose.

I have about 14GB free space left for OS X.

I visited Apple Store and told the support staff that I noticed the mac is running slower that before. He suggested that I should remove files/program so the HD has about 25 GB free space.

questions:

Is his advice sound? if not, what is the optimal swap file, free space required?

what one can do to improve mac running faster?

Is there something similar to disk defragmentation on the PC side?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,326moderator
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by yangk00 View Post

Is his advice sound? if not, what is the optimal swap file, free space required?

His advice is not really sound. OS X doesn't tend to use more than 1.5 GB of swap space so anything above 2 GB is fine. It can go higher but it usually doesn't. My machine runs fine with about 2-3 GB free on average. It depends on your Ram of course. I've seen a machine with 4GB of Ram use over 3GB of swap space but again nowhere near 25GB.

Quote:

what one can do to improve mac running faster?

If you get a lot of beachballing, check your caches aren't messed up. You can clean them out using a program called cocktail. Also repair permissions and check your hard drive. Keep an eye on your activity monitor in /applications/utilities to see your ram usage and CPU usage.

Your machine will slow down when you are running Rosetta programs like MS Office. In your activity monitor, check what apps are Intel or PPC and try to keep the PPC ones to an absolute minimum.

Quote:

Is there something similar to disk defragmentation on the PC side?