Burning data files onto a DVD-R on a Mac OS X.

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm new to Macs so I can't say I know much about it.

I wanted to burn the DVD-R not into a DVD(using the iDVD), but just as a data disk. You know...putting the DVD-R inside the computer right away, opening the window, dragging in the files, and then burning it so that I can use the DVD-R as a data disk.

When I worked on my school computer, it worked fine. It did automatically open up a program called BurnX Free, but it worked very well.

But when I tried to use my MacBook Pro at home, it didn't work. BurnX Free didn't pop up obviously, but I thought 'well that's still ok, I'll just open up the empty DVD-R, and do it just like I'd do with CD-Rs!.' Apparently, it didn't work that well. I dragged the files in, and then clicked the "Burn" button on the top right hand corner of the window.

But the small window that popped up with "Processing files..." etc stayed like it forever. I thought I'd give it some time, and waited over 40 minutes, but it stayed as "Processing files" with the blue procedure-indication bar continuously moving.

So, how do I burn DVD-Rs into a data disk through macs? And if I actually need a software, which one is the best? Roxio Popcorn 2? BurnX Free? or anything else like...Nero? I've tried to search online for these answers only to get more confused. So I'm turning to you guys...

*p.s.: I'd greatly appreciate if anybody told me how to do the same on PCs if you happen to know...

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    You need no third-party software, free or paid, to burn data to a DVD-R. It is all handled by the Finder:

Insert the blank DVD-R into your optical drive.

Watch for the disk's icon to appear on the Desktop.

Drag the files that you want to burn onto the icon.

Drag the icon toward the Trash. (The Trash icon changes a burn icon.)
  • Reply 2 of 9
    jinixjinix Posts: 33member