Does OS X run games better than XP?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
The other day I was at the Apple Store asking if they knew if the new iMacs were going to have graphics card upgrades. They didn't know the answer to that, but the guy did tell me that OS X utilizes hardware better than a Windows machine does and can therefore run games "faster and better."

He then said that the 24" iMac with the stock 7300GT would run games like Call of Duty 2 at higher detail with higher frames than a XP machine with similar specs, even with a 7600GT.

Anyone know if this is truly the case? I'm a Apple Newb (well, kinda) so any help with this would be greatly appeciated.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    hi_qhi_q Posts: 31member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Fletch View Post

The other day I was at the Apple Store asking if they knew if the new iMacs were going to have graphics card upgrades. They didn't know the answer to that, but the guy did tell me that OS X utilizes hardware better than a Windows machine does and can therefore run games "faster and better."

He then said that the 24" iMac with the stock 7300GT would run games like Call of Duty 2 at higher detail with higher frames than a XP machine with similar specs, even with a 7600GT.

Anyone know if this is truly the case? I'm a Apple Newb (well, kinda) so any help with this would be greatly appeciated.

My next purchase will be COD2. I will be certain to let you know, but all the other games I have run much smoother on my Mac than on my PoC.
  • Reply 2 of 9
    paprochypaprochy Posts: 129member
    I think in the grand scheme of things, that was a load of bull. Maybe some games happen to run better but the lack of DirectX support in OS means that most games don't run as well as in Windows. That's what bootcamp is for.
  • Reply 3 of 9
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,443moderator