Parallels Desktop for Mac

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I am considering to use Parallels Desktop for Mac. As an electronic engineer I use frequently Windows apps to design new equipment (e.g. Multisim, Eagle PCB design) My interest is how easy Parallels Desktop for Mac is connecting to a Bootcamp WinXP installation.

Most of the hardware design tools are written for MSWindows, so I'll love to hear your experiencies running these apps in Parallels Desktop for Mac/Bootcamp. I would be very pleased when I could abandon the use of a windows PC to use these apps. Some of the apps are written for DOS, connecting to special (programming) hardware via USB/RS232. Does anyone has experience at this ?

Anyway, thanks for your response

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    pubguypubguy Posts: 108member
    You might want to inquire here:

http://forums.parallels.com/forumdisplay.php?f=53

I run Parallels and it works great!

I am not running boot camp (you can not suspend a boot camp partition) and the suspend feature is a major time saver.

Anyways, it works great. They offer a 15-day free trial, so you can't go wrong giving it a try on your exact configuration.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    Don't count on being able to run your Windows games under Parallels. Due to a lack of 3D graphics support, you won't be able to. I know because I learned the hard way.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    Do I have to install bootcamp first before I can install parallels, or does parallels run on its own?
  • Reply 4 of 7
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by WallyWattz View Post

Do I have to install bootcamp first before I can install parallels, or does parallels run on its own?

I’ll summarize my experience.

XP vs. Vista