DV to iDVD via iMovie

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I am trying to convert a movie recorded with a Panasonic NV (PV) GS400 digital video camera onto a DVD and retain as much of the original ?quality? as possible. I guess my objective is to try and create broadcast quality (heck even movie quality) footage on the lowest possible budget. I am a novice in this arena ? this is my first real project ? bought all the gear about a year ago and have been experimenting up until now. Mind you this is a home movie and I have no intention of going commercial.

I have a dual-core iMac 1.8GHz , 1Gb RAM, 150Gb Hard drive? I am using Apple software namely iMovie06 and iDVD06 which ship as standard with iMac. Am also using the above camera, in pro.cine, wide-screen mode.

First tip: no point shooting in anything but bright sunlight. In this situation the shots look incredible (though forget about far away filming ? you need to be within about 20m of the subject). They are of genuine movie quality ? absolutely amazing. However? dim the lights a little bit and suddenly you feel as though you are in the cheap consumer end of the digital video camera market.

Once the footage was taken I first imported into iMovie using firewire cable ? no problem everything worked fine.

I then edit the clips, lay them out in a track, and add headings, photos, transitions, soundtracks. Here I run into my first problem ? once a transition is added, any changes to the clips (effects) often appear to render the associated transitions invalid and you end up with all these fragmented clips. My advice is to leave transitioning until very last (except for the soundtrack). Unknowingly I was adding and removing and adding away ? till some clips started to look rather scant. Throw it all away and start again.