Macbook vs Macbook Pro for Engineering Major

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
New to the forums here. I'm about to buy a Mac here pretty soon before school starts, but I'm having a hard time deciding between the MB and the MBP. I am an engineering student and will be using the computer mostly for writing papers, listening to music, surfing the net, playing movies, some light audio and video editing for personal use, and maybe light gaming, although, gaming is a huge maybe. I really like the size of the MB and actually think I might prefer the size in lieu of power, but I am concerned about it being able to handle CAD programs. My current PC laptop is a 15" and I really don't like carrying it around. It's just cumbersome to lug around campus all day. Just looking for some suggestions. Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by raw10628 View Post

New to the forums here. I'm about to buy a Mac here pretty soon before school starts, but I'm having a hard time deciding between the MB and the MBP. I am an engineering student and will be using the computer mostly for writing papers, listening to music, surfing the net, playing movies, some light audio and video editing for personal use, and maybe light gaming, although, gaming is a huge maybe. I really like the size of the MB and actually think I might prefer the size in lieu of power, but I am concerned about it being able to handle CAD programs. My current PC laptop is a 15" and I really don't like carrying it around. It's just cumbersome to lug around campus all day. Just looking for some suggestions. Thanks.

I think the regular macbook will suit your needs, but I would wait as long as possible to see if that ultra-portable rumor plays out in time. That would give you both the smaller size and (hopefully) be in the MBP line so it would have more power.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    gongon Posts: 2,437member
    There's CAD work and then there's CAD work.