Help! PC builder wants to turn Mac

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
It's my first post, HUZZAH!

At work I have a nice PowerMac full of ram which works fine, but at home I have a home-brew cheap PC e6400 C2D computer, but I HATE Vista and can't take it anymore.

I mainly do print, some web and no video editing using CS3. I can't seem to talk myself into buying a MacPro for 3400 (especially because I can build a PC for $1900 sans OSX), but looked at waiting for the new iMac or getting the low-end Macbook Pro + 20in monitor. Since I have never used a non-tower Mac before, are the other options even realistic for my needs or should I just suck it up and save more for the MacPro?

Here is the breakdown:

1. MacPro (edu discount)

2.66 Quad

x1900 upgrade

4GB ram-MacSales.com

20in Monitor

Total = $3246

2. Macbook Pro 2.2

160 7200 upgrade

4GB ram MacSales

20in Monitor

Total = 2526

3. 20in iMac

3GB ram MacSales

x1600 upgrade

Total = $1682

I can also take advantage of my wife's edu discount btw. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, let the opinions pour in!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    backtomacbacktomac Posts: 4,579member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DdubRes79 View Post

It's my first post, HUZZAH!

At work I have a nice PowerMac full of ram which works fine, but at home I have a home-brew cheap PC e6400 C2D computer, but I HATE Vista and can't take it anymore.

I mainly do print, some web and no video editing using CS3. I can't seem to talk myself into buying a MacPro for 3400 (especially because I can build a PC for $1900 sans OSX), but looked at waiting for the new iMac or getting the low-end Macbook Pro + 20in monitor. Since I have never used a non-tower Mac before, are the other options even realistic for my needs or should I just suck it up and save more for the MacPro?

Here is the breakdown:

1. MacPro (edu discount)

2.66 Quad

x1900 upgrade

4GB ram-MacSales.com

20in Monitor

Total = $3246