Buying first mac - buy now or wait for Leopard

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm interested in swapping to a mac, about made up my mind 100%. I'm looking at the $1099 mac book. It will be for general home use, nothing too special. My main concern/interest now is do I purchase now, or wait towards the end of the year for leopard to be out and used some? Any input would be great, I have zero mac experience. $wise I can see waiting, but I don't know how wise jumping onto a new platform w/ a new release of an OS would be. . .

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    sequitursequitur Posts: 1,910member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jcblough View Post

I'm interested in swapping to a mac, about made up my mind 100%. I'm looking at the $1099 mac book. It will be for general home use, nothing too special. My main concern/interest now is do I purchase now, or wait towards the end of the year for leopard to be out and used some? Any input would be great, I have zero mac experience. $wise I can see waiting, but I don't know how wise jumping onto a new platform w/ a new release of an OS would be. . .

You'll be jumping onto a new platform with a new (to you) OS either way. If you mean that they BOTH may be flaky, that doesn't happen as much as in PC's. Jobs postponed the Leopard debut, so it would be stable. My suggestion is to wait. It's only a couple of months. However, BUY the AppleCare package. If there's a problem within the first three years (I think), you'd be covered.

Learning Tiger now and then Leopard in a couple months might be awkward. I don't know how close in features they are because I skipped Tiger. I switched to Macs after 20 some years with PC's. My only regret is that I didn't do it sooner. You're making a wise choice switching. My PC's were tools. I love Macs. I groan when I use PC's at work. I have 2 PC's at home gathering dust. I never turn them on. The word that comes to mind about PC's is "klunky". Macs just work.