Apple pulls a Dell?!?!?!

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
I was shocked! After much hemming and hawing over which way to go for future purchases, I convinced my wife we should get a Mac - the Mac is the only platform I don't really "know" - we need a laptop, and the budget is there. She always came up with excuses but finally, she agreed, and we ordered a Macbook Pro - C2D, and she got the iPod Nano using her school discount. $2500 into debt, we are actually excited...she has been wanting an iPod for a long time and I've been begging for a laptop.

To make a long story short, the iPod shipped first and we received it today. After about an hour of trying to connect it and make it sync myself I had performed countless softwre uninstalls/reinstalls, and 1418 errors, I googled results and reinstalled USB drivers, then tried restoring the device, all to no avail. Being in IT, I do not like giving up, but I am new to this - let's see that stellar name of Apple deliver.

So I call Customer Service. Another 4 hours of dropped phone calls, (no callbacks) and one agonizingly long final call with a qualified tech, his supervisor and billing, here's what happened: We performed troubleshooting on multiple USB ports, at least 5 installs and reconnects (on multiple computers), and no resolution or restore works. The Apple tech declares it DOA and says he's going to ship me a box to return the iPod. Great, I say, so when the replacement and return box should get here when? He says, "No, just a box...after we get it back, and verify it doesn't work, we'll send a replacement out. So, 5 hours of troubleshooting, 4 disconnected calls, and now I have to wait another two weeks to get a measly $200 piece of peripheral? Um, no...