Random Shutdown?

becbec
Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm running Mac OS X. I've been using it for a year and 2 months and have never encountered a problem until just now. It shut down with half a battery to go! Is this what happens when it overheats? I have a widget that indicates it's 62 C right now which I can only assume is too hot.

Any info on overheating and what it can do to my info would be greatly appreciated!

Edit: To my hand, it doesn't feel paricularly hot which is what's throwing me a bit.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    smaxsmax Posts: 361member
    62*C isn't anywhere near overheating. I don't really know what it could be... Battery is uncalibrated and actually holds less charge than your computer thinks? Corrupt files? I'm not sure.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bec View Post

I'm running Mac OS X. I've been using it for a year and 2 months and have never encountered a problem until just now. It shut down with half a battery to go! Is this what happens when it overheats? I have a widget that indicates it's 62 C right now which I can only assume is too hot.

Any info on overheating and what it can do to my info would be greatly appreciated!

Edit: To my hand, it doesn't feel paricularly hot which is what's throwing me a bit.

What kind of machine do you have?
  • Reply 3 of 13
    becbec Posts: 68member
    It's a Macbook \ Probably should have mentioned that. It's just odd as it's never done anything wrong and then...black screen.
  • Reply 4 of 13
    Have you run disk disk utility? If not I'd run it and see what the results are.
  • Reply 5 of 13
    I always wondered what that was for.

There's also an incorrect number of thread records, if that means anything. Thank you for getting me this far (a name to a problem helps!), is there a course of action that doesn't involve me taking this to another city for repair?
  • Reply 6 of 13
    smaxsmax Posts: 361member