Upgrading RAM on new iMac

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm going to purchase the new iMac when Leopard comes out. I want to increase the RAM from 1 GB to 2GB without buying it directly from Apple. Whats the best to do this. More importantly- if I want to upgrade to 2 GB, do I only need to buy 1 GB because it comes with 1 GB already? Whats the best way to purchase this? Thanks!

Comments

  • Reply 1 of 14
    sequitursequitur Posts: 1,899member
    Look at the latest posts on the following thread:



    Memory upgrade for iMac (mid 2007 aluminum)



    It's under AppleInsider > Current Hardware



    If you're adding only 1 GB, you could find it at CompUSA - sometimes on sale.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    adding 1gb of RAM will be easily done.

    There are very clear instruction online at the apple site as well as in the manual that comes with the iMac.

    I used OWC ( http://www.macsales.com/ )

    They are reputable, easy to access website.



    There are many others.

    Much debate about buying "name brand " Ram vs the cheapest out there - I wont go there, I have had good experience with OWC.

    Since you are just adding a 1gb stick to an empty slot you wont have to sell back your RAM , as was the case with me (I added 2GB X2, sold back my 1 GB stick)



    The link to the Apple support article about adding RAM is here:

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306204

    Enjoy!
  • Reply 3 of 14
    mrtotesmrtotes Posts: 759member
    The iMac comes with 1GB installed in one slot with one slot empty. I plan on buying a single 2GB to install in the empty slot for a 3GB total. Why buy an extra 1GB now. You'll only end up throwing both 1GBs out when you want to go to 4GB in a few years,
  • Reply 4 of 14
    wow im glad i saw this, Apple is REALLY inflating their prices
  • Reply 5 of 14
    So, just curious, adding RAM yourself doesnt void the waranty does it?
  • Reply 6 of 14
    bg_nycbg_nyc Posts: 189member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mrtotes View Post


    The iMac comes with 1GB installed in one slot with one slot empty. I plan on buying a single 2GB to install in the empty slot for a 3GB total. Why buy an extra 1GB now. You'll only end up throwing both 1GBs out when you want to go to 4GB in a few years,



    imac will only use up to 3 GB. The 4th will be a waste of money.
  • Reply 7 of 14
    sequitursequitur Posts: 1,899member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bg_nyc View Post


    imac will only use up to 3 GB. The 4th will be a waste of money.



    That article pertains to the 2006 iMac.





    http://www.apple.com/imac/technology/storage.html

    "More memory.



    The more memory your computer has, the more programs you can run simultaneously and the better performance you get from your computer. Each iMac model comes with at least with 1GB of RAM in the form of a single SO-DIMM module in one of the two easily accessible memory slots, which means it’s a breeze to add more memory as your needs change. The iMac can now accommodate up to 4GB of RAM — perfect for people who do a lot of photo and video editing."
  • Reply 8 of 14
    sequitursequitur Posts: 1,899member
    2.0GB PC-5300 DDR2 667MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Module *

    Brand: Other World Computing

    OWC Item # OWC5300DDR2S2GB



    $87.99







    4.0GB (2GB + 2GB Module Set) Upgrade kit for all Apple 'Core 2 Duo' 2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, Core 2 Extreme 2.8GHz

    Brand: Other World Computing

    OWC Item # OWC53IM2DDR4GBK



    $172.99





    Techworks 4.0GB (2GB + 2GB Module Set) Upgrade kit for all Apple 'Core 2 Duo' 2.2GHz, 2.4GHz MacBook Pro "Mid

    Brand: TechWorks

    OWC Item # TWK12683P4GB



    $192.99
  • Reply 9 of 14
    bg_nycbg_nyc Posts: 189member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sequitur View Post


    That article pertains to the 2006 iMac.





    http://www.apple.com/imac/technology/storage.html

    "More memory.



    The more memory your computer has, the more programs you can run simultaneously and the better performance you get from your computer. Each iMac model comes with at least with 1GB of RAM in the form of a single SO-DIMM module in one of the two easily accessible memory slots, which means it?s a breeze to add more memory as your needs change. The iMac can now accommodate up to 4GB of RAM ? perfect for people who do a lot of photo and video editing."



    Right. But the 2006 iMac could also physically accommodate 4 GB of ram, and that 4th GB was recognized by the system when you went to 'About this Mac'. But after scouring the Apple support docs, i can not find any verification that the mid-2007 iMac, unlike the 2006 version, will actually ADDRESS the 4th GB.
  • Reply 10 of 14
    sequitursequitur Posts: 1,899member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bg_nyc View Post


    Right. But the 2006 iMac could also physically accommodate 4 GB of ram, and that 4th GB was recognized by the system when you went to 'About this Mac'. But after scouring the Apple support docs, i can not find any verification that the mid-2007 iMac, unlike the 2006 version, will actually ADDRESS the 4th GB.



    Try these two Apple sites regarding upgrading memory:



    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306204



    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306205
  • Reply 11 of 14
    bg_nycbg_nyc Posts: 189member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sequitur View Post


    Try these two Apple sites regarding upgrading memory:



    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306204



    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306205



    Yes... those come up in a search. But they don't say whether the system will address the full 4 GB. It just provides a tutorial on how to install RAM and the type of ram to install.



    But the fact that it doesn't speak to this issue may mean that it does address the full 4GB. So you can make the assumption if you want.
  • Reply 12 of 14
    mrtotesmrtotes Posts: 759member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bg_nyc View Post


    imac will only use up to 3 GB. The 4th will be a waste of money.





    The White iMacs can only address 3.3GB or so. Aluminium iMacs can address 4GB.



    http://media.twango.com/m1/original/...961dcaa914.bmp



    Apple Developer Site:

    http://developer.apple.com/documenta...uid/TP40003031



    That said Apple doesn't always have accurate docs. The iMac G4 can address 2GB of RAM but Apple says it can only address 1GB. I have 1.5GB installed and can confirm from Activity Monitor that the RAM is allocated and in use by applications.
  • Reply 13 of 14
    sequitursequitur Posts: 1,899member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bg_nyc View Post


    Yes... those come up in a search. But they don't say whether the system will address the full 4 GB. It just provides a tutorial on how to install RAM and the type of ram to install.



    But the fact that it doesn't speak to this issue may mean that it does address the full 4GB. So you can make the assumption if you want.



    I posted this elsewhere, but since I don't know how to link to that one, I'll repeat it here so you don't have to hunt for it.



    CRUCIAL The Memory Experts

    http://www.crucial.com/index.aspx



    Guaranteed-compatible memory upgrades for your Apple iMac 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (24-inch) Desktop/PC.

    * Maximum Memory: 4096MB

    * USB Support: 2.x Compliant

    * Standard Memory: 1024MB removable

    * Slots: 2 (2 banks of 1)

    *



    Q: What memory goes into my computer, and will a faster speed be backward-compatible?



    A: DDRII memory with support for DDR2 PC2-5300 speeds.



    Because DDR2 memory is backward-compatible, you can safely upgrade your system with any of the guaranteed-compatible DDR2 speeds listed below.



    Q: How much memory can my computer handle?



    A: 4096MB.



    Adding the maximum amount of memory will improve performance and help extend the useful life of your system as you run increasingly demanding software applications in the future.



    Q: Do I have to install matching pairs?



    A: No.



    No, you can install modules one at a time, and you can mix different densities of modules in your computer. But if your computer supports dual-channel memory configurations, you should install in identical pairs (preferably in kits) for optimal performance.



    Q: Does my computer support dual-channel memory?



    A: No.



    Your system does not support dual channel.



    Q: Does my computer support ECC memory?



    A: No.



    Your system does not support ECC. Because ECC and non-ECC modules should not be mixed within a system, install the same type of modules that are already in your system.



    Caveat: The above does NOT apply to the Mac Pro.
  • Reply 14 of 14
    bg_nycbg_nyc Posts: 189member
    Thanks Sequitur!
Sign In or Register to comment.