need some people with Skilz

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hey there, i'm new to Mac, i waited for Macworld conf and then to my dismay...no new display!

I got a octocore and a pc monitor...well i figured everyone had drivers for both...eeee, wrong.

I told the guy on the phone that i bought a Mac and wanted the Dell 30" and got it all set up and shipped. Well i have no drivers for it.

What's the best solution where i can keep the monitor and still have the drivers?

thanks in advance!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Bosman View Post

Hey there, i'm new to Mac, i waited for Macworld conf and then to my dismay...no new display!

I got a octocore and a pc monitor...well i figured everyone had drivers for both...eeee, wrong.

I told the guy on the phone that i bought a Mac and wanted the Dell 30" and got it all set up and shipped. Well i have no drivers for it.

What's the best solution where i can keep the monitor and still have the drivers?

thanks in advance!

What? "Where can I keep the monitor and still have the drivers..."

I have no idea what this means. Can you not hook up the monitor and see that it works? Can you not calibrate it with the monitor calibration tools?
  • Reply 2 of 8
    Can't say that I've ever seen a monitor driver.
  • Reply 3 of 8
    I talked to a tech at Dell and they said i should contact someone at apple to see if there is a program or something that will let you use a .exe file from my Driver disc...then i will have all the options the monitor provides at my disposal. Right now it is limited in functions. It works yes...i need to calibrate it for photography.

There are definatley windws only monitors out there...wierd eh?
  • Reply 4 of 8
    Use apple colorsync and/or the stuff in - system preferences-displays. Exe's don't work on macs. Oh, how we with they did...\

Hope you enjoy your new computer anyway!
  • Reply 5 of 8
    System Preferences: Displays: Color: Calibrate