should I buy mba or wait?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hello

I would like some advice on buying the MBA. I have read all the reviews and feel I would like the MBA. I currently have a toshiba 1.6ghz with 2mb of ram but my wife bought a MB earlier and it runs a lot better and more intuitively than my pc. I feel that even if it is a minor difference due to os and a slightly higher speed, I would like it. I am a law student and the specs on the MBA seem like they would fit me fine. I was thinking of the 1.8 with the HHD. This configuration is available online and is A LOT cheaper than the SSD.

1) would this be considered a "first gen" model and as such should I wait for the bugs to get worked out?

2) What is everyones feeling on if mac is quickly going to come out with a more updated MBA with possibly better specs or a lower price?

I.E. Should I buy the mba now or wait 6 months to make sure the bugs get worked out and see if apple ups the specs?

Thanks for helping a newbie

Adam

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    dentondenton Posts: 725member
    The MBA is a new product category for Apple, so this is definitely a "first gen" model. It will not be updated anytime soon, so buy away: you're probably safe for six months at the least -- a long time in the computer world!

If you are worried about letting the kinks be worked out, wait on the purchase for a couple of months and pay attention to what people are saying about problems that they're encountering. These are always magnified on the internet, but you can get some idea of what bugs are out there and which are getting fixed, etc.

If the MBA is the computer for you, then good luck and happy computing!
  • Reply 2 of 3