Just need a bit more advice on Macs

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
This may well be moved to a past thread I made, sorry if it is in the wrong place!

Some of you may have read/posted in my thread about which Mac to get. Sorry for being a bore but I have still not completely settled on my decision and have struck some new thoughts tonight and wondered what you more experienced mac users thought about it . . .

The MBP is very much a professionals machine, am I a professional? Will I really get the most out of it and get my moneys worth? I am only a first year degree student and will not be a professional for a good couple of years yet.

Would I be better to go for a full spec iMac 20", using the money I will have saved on a decent external hard drive (to take files and designs between home and uni) a new graphics tablet and a big RAM upgrade and then get a macbook ready for year 2 or wait until my third year and get a MBP which will by then be very much more updated I would expect!

I also asked myself if I were to have a MBP would I actually take it into uni each week risking breaking/losing/having stolen my £1600 investment!

Sorry I keep rambling on about this one, but it is alot of money to be considering and I want to make sure I make the best and most informed decision when it comes to taking the plunge. And by asking lots of questions, I learn more and become less of a newbie!

Any opinions, constructive please, are welcome! Thanks!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2
    Hi, you need to evaluate your needs based on function.

Do you teach at all? That is, do you give lectures, make presentations, and so on? Do you need to have access to personal documents and files while you are in lab or the classroom? Do you need to take notes during classes of your own?

If these are important things you need to be able to do, then by all means you need a notebook.