Graduation Present Purchasing Advice

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello everybody, I'm sorry if I'm in the wrong place or wrong topic forum; it is nothing compared how lost I am with which laptop to buy for college (major in Mechanical Engineering.)

Now I understand that I might be recieving somewhat biased feedback, but I would appreciate your understanding of the benefits of a normal laptop as well compared to a MB or a MBP.

Here are some things to consider:

1. I've used PC's my whole life, but I am amazingly impressed with the ease of use and efficiancy of the Mac OS. I have no idea if learning the notebook will be a challenge or not.

2. As a Mechanical Engineer, I'll be using CAD systems that require lots of RAM and a fast processor. Additionally, most CAD programs are built for PC. (It probably wouldnt kill me to use the CAD systems at school though.)

3. The less $$ I spend on a laptop, the more I can throw towards tuition.

4. I don't play and games and will primarily use the laptop for safari and word processing, unless I am able to use the CAD systems on my Mac.

5. If new Macbooks are coming in June, I'm willing to wait!!

So, on that note, what would you do if you were me? PC? Current Macbook? Wait for new Macbook? Drop out of college? Any advice on this general issue would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    splinemodelsplinemodel Posts: 7,311member