Converting to MAC! Looking for Mac equiv. programs similar to Sound Forge & Acid Pro!

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
So I just bought my MacBook Pro last year, and divided it 1/2 Windows 1/2 Mac -- I finally decided that I can't deal with Windows anymore..the viruses, spyware, and poor performance in general -- Only thing is I have to say bye bye to the 2 digital audio programs I've been using to make CHEERLEADING music for the past 5 years - SOUND FORGE (to cut my songs) and ACID PRO (to mix them) -- I already contacted SONY, and they don't currently offer any audio programs for Mac..The woman actually got a bit feisty when I asked them to re-consider =)

Anyway, to match SOUND FORGE, I've been playing around with Wave Pad, Audacity, and Twisted Wave..they all kinda do the trick, but it just doesn't seem to be enough -- The most important things I liked about SOUND FORGE were: 1) use of markers 2) being able to zoom in & out of the sound file with the scroll wheel on my mouse 3) having the freedom to drag & drop -- I found that using the zoom tool within any project, made cutting music twice as long..and some programs just don't support my scroll wheel, nor the drag & drop concept.

To match ACID PRO, I've been playing around with Reason, & Ableton Live, but they almost seem TOO pro for me..I don't even understand half of what they do. The most important quality about ACID PRO was it's loop based technology -- I loved being able to find a cut (previously created with Sound Forge) within the project browser, and tell Acid to read it as a loop (and the # of beats, depending on its length) or as a one shot. This automatic time-stretching/tempo-matching concept, & straight-forwardness is what I loved most about ACID -- It's like music for dummies!! Pick, Paint, & Play..not to mention, unlimited tracks & cross-fading is a plus+++