Cheap External Display for a macbook

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am going to get a macbook this summer (hopefully after they've been upgraded) and I also want to get a compatible 22" LCD to use in my dorm. I am a college student so I need the cheapest one possible but I also need it to work. I've looked around a bit and found the Acer 22" from tigerdirect.com which is around $200 but I have heard that it is not compatible with macs.... (1)is this true? and if this is so (2) what are some other alternatives that are in the same price range that are compatible with macs.

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    oordonezoordonez Posts: 1member
    I'm also looking for an (cheaper) alternative to the Apple displays. This is what I've found so far - not as cheap as $200, but definitely much less than $900.

http://www.newlaunches.com/archives/...ur_macbook.php

No. 1 - Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP 24-inch Widescreen LCD

Here's a docking stand for the MacBook, once you've purchased the new display.

Hope this helps... and if you go with it, let me know how it worked out.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by gringo View Post

I am going to get a macbook this summer (hopefully after they've been upgraded) and I also want to get a compatible 22" LCD to use in my dorm. I am a college student so I need the cheapest one possible but I also need it to work. I've looked around a bit and found the Acer 22" from tigerdirect.com which is around $200 but I have heard that it is not compatible with macs.... (1)is this true? and if this is so (2) what are some other alternatives that are in the same price range that are compatible with macs.

Thanks

• Reply 2 of 5
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Deryecobe View Post

ohhhhh, really?

Why did you resurrect a three year old thread to say absolutely nothing in your first post here?
  • Reply 3 of 5
    nhtnht Posts: 4,522member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post