Suggestions on Word Processor Choice (and any other writing software you want to plug

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I'm getting an iMac (finally! squee!) after 4 years of owning mac laptops. I'm a writer by trade, and I'm always keeping an out on/out for applications I may wish to use.

My needs: a simple word processor that I can do basic formatting with - no need for fancy columns or clipart, really. It has to have a word count function/ability to see page count. I prefer a "full screen" option for the days where I'm trying to weasel out of writing (ironically, like right now! )

I'm thinking about switching out of Office and using iWork or Scrivener. I played with iWork a little at the store to see if I like it. It seems nice, but it was hard to find any additional format editing that I may need to use. For those of you who use iWork, can you give my some pros and cons of your personal experience with it? This is going to sound goofy, but is there a wordcount function? I couldn't find one.

Or, do you have a different, third option to suggest for me? I do prefer to have something that can convert to a .doc file so I can mess around at lunchtime at my fulltime job with personal writing projects, but I can work my way around that easily if another app is worth it.

And if you use any organizational writing items, feel free to mention them as well.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    galleygalley Posts: 971member
    Word count is on the info tab of the Document Inspector.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    silviarsilviar Posts: 19member
    I don't suppose there's anything else you'd like to tell me about it?
  • Reply 3 of 7
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator
    iwork doesn't really have a word processor. Pages is a layout app like Indesign. They added some word processing stuff but Microsoft Word is better and let's you use a format that other writers will be compatible with.